Dead Rising 3 – Thoughts So Far…….

Pre Xbox One launch I couldn’t decide whether to get Ryse: Son of Rome or Dead Rising 3.  I eventually went for Ryse as I had read that DR3 did not really show off the graphics of the next gen console. Yesterday I completed the excellent, but short campaign of Ryse and with no interest in the multiplayer I looked to trade it in at Game.  After some discussion I got a good price for Ryse which gave me the cash for a pre-owned copy of DR3.

I had played the recently released demo on the Xbox One and I have played previous versions briefly on the Xbox 360.  However once installed I have been very pleasantly surprised.  Agreed, the graphics look like last gen to a certain extent, however the sheer number of zombies on the screen at one time has to be seen to be believed.  there can be literally hundreds of the undead on your screen at one time, ready for you to mow them down in the method of your choosing. 

Dead Rising 3–Short Clip of a Zombie Slice and mowing down loads in a car!

Now this feature wasn’t a real surprise to me as I had read reviews of the game however seeing it for the first time is incredible.  A particular section of the game found me trying to avoid the mass hoard of zombies by cutting through a shop, however as I approached the front of the store I saw hundreds of zombies outside wandering the street, I knocked over an object making a little noise and suddenly the zombies attention was drawn to me and they all started to storm the store, creating an intense fight or flight situation.

After an hour or so of playing the game I discovered that this is one of the first few games to utilise the Xbox Smart Glass to it’s full capacity.  By opening the app on your the device of your choosing you turn it into an in game smart phone.  Whereas calls for side missions would normally come through your speakers or headphones, they will now come as phone calls through your device.  In my case I was using my Kindle Fire.  You can reject or answer these calls as you would do a normal phone and it just adds to the immersion into the game.  You can also look at maps, objectives, etc similar to an everyday smart phone which is a really nice addition to the game.

dr3hoard

The game also allows the use of voice commands through Kinect which works well, you can call zombies from across a ravine to make them plummet to their death, it all just adds to a great gaming experience.

I feel that this game should have been promoted better as a great launch title using all of the consoles new features to the max, making you realise just what a powerful console the Xbox One really is, it may not be the most powerful graphically wise, however it is still amazing graphically, but the additional features just add to an all round great gaming experience.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Dead Rising 3 – Thoughts So Far…….”

  1. felixsandman Says:

    Reblogged this on therabine.

Leave a Reply

