COD:Ghosts Same Old Story…….But Still Great

Well another year and another Call of Duty release, this year the two team baton passes to Infinity Ward who developed Modern Warfare 3 just over two years ago now.  I downloaded Ghosts onto my Xbox 360 after waiting a week as I was able to get a free upgrade to the Xbox One so thought why not get it now.

Starting off in multiplayer (as I now do since MW3) I struggled, it was a case of getting used to the game mechanics, the game feels different to Black Ops 2 and it takes a little time to get used to the controls for some bizarre reason despite them being the same.  Perhaps it was the switch to a normal controller after selling my Scuf controller in anticipation of the Xbox One release next week.

cod

The game does look beautiful, the graphics pop off of the screen, some have said the colours are dull but I have to say I have not found that the case.

As always there are new loadouts, from a new perk system where you must earn squad points to unlock them and then you get to choose a number of them based on their value and also whether you carry a secondary weapon or not.

Even to a COD veteran like myself it can all seem a little overwhelming at first with so many options to choose from, but after just a few games things did seem to fall into place and I was quickly gaining an understanding of which perks best suited my gameplay style.

The weapons as usual where a strange one for me, as usual I started by choosing SMGs based on their stats but soon found that just experimenting with some of the other ones I found I played better with perhaps the not so powerful weapons, as time goes on the weapons will be tweaked to nerf the over powered ones so you should never get too comfortable with just one weapon.YurI

This year they have introduced squads, this is a system where you can loadout up to ten soldiers which can be used in multiplayer or in the new squads mode.  To be honest at this stage I do not really understand the point of this but I am sure time will tell if this is actually a worthwhile new feature so I reserve my right to change my opinion at this stage.

The maps as I have said look great, however they are much bigger, perhaps trying to compete with the massive maps of Battlefield however, this is not always a good thing.  I found at times I was wandering around the maps without bumping into enemies for what seemed ages.  Particularly with the new gametype, ‘Cranked’ whereby once you kill and enemy you have 30 secounds to kill another or you will blow up.  The maps really need to be smaller for this type of game.  There are some great maps though, particularly the Uk based map which looks like some old medievil castle grounds which is particularly great for Domination matches.

The campaign I am yet to play as I will wait to download it on the XboxOne as campaign progression (unlike multiplayer) will not transfer to the new console.

I am sure as time goes on I will form new opinions of different aspects of game as I learn more but at this stage I have to say the game is a minor improvement on previous years, but if you like previous games you will love the new one, if you don’t then don’t expect anything new hear to change your opinion.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

