Shifting to The Dark Side – Why I am ‘Currently’ Leaving Xbox for the PS4.

playstation-4-release-dateWell the E3 news and rumours has now died down and it is time to reflect on all of the news that came out from it, particularly relating to the next generation of consoles.

As I have previously posted I was finding it difficult to decide which next generation console I thought I would be going with but I believe I have finally made a decision, although I am still keeping a toe in the Xbox pool.

Many of my reasons could be applied to a PS gamer looking to switch to Xbox but there are also a few other factors that have swung my decision and I list them below:

1.  The most powerful reason of all is my friends.  I have many more current gen Playstation friends and there has always been the usual banter between the different console owners.  However it seems that all of them will be staying with Playstation plus some other Xbox friends along with me are making the switch.  More friends means more chances of having games with people I actually know in real life.

2.  The rumours are that the Playstation is actually more powerful than the Xbox.ps4-rhombox-cropped

3.  Whilst the Xbox is supported by a powerhouse of servers which apparently will compensate for the lack of power, these servers will only ever be as good as your internet connection, therefore whilst these servers were keeping me interested in the Xbox, they have now lost their pulling power to me.

4.  I have no interest in the entertainment aspect of Xbox, I do like the current gen Kinect and the ability to use voice commands but that is really not enough to swing a buying decision.

5.  The Playstation is cheaper, no more no less.  If the Xbox turns out to be better and more expensive they may win back some fans but I suspect it is more likely to be a level playing field and therefore the price does matter.

6.  I do not know much about Playstation exclusive games, and I have to say the Xbox launch line up is the only thing niggling at the back of my mind.  The Xbox launch exclusives so far look amazing, and I have read little on the Playstation ones, however if the “Last of Us” is anything to go by, then there should be no concerns on this front in the near future.

7.  Whilst I have to admit, I prefer the Xbox controller, reports indicate the Playstation controller is larger and therefore hopefully won’t mean a re-occurrence of my old PS2 left thumbs strain, but only time will tell on that one.

8.  Whilst this could be applied to Ps3 owners, I do find the lack of backward compatibility for old hardware very frustrating, whilst I am not bothered about game backward compatibility, the hardware is a major outlay and therefore it is frustrating to find none of it will be compatible on the new console.

Well there you have it, those are my reasons for ‘currently’ looking to switch, we will only really be able to comment once the consoles are actually released but with 4 months still to go, there is a lot that can change in that time!

If you enjoy my blog ramblings, please follow!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

